Ethical corporate management
1. Establishment of ethical management policy and programs

(I) Does the Company have regulations and publicly available documents addressing its ethical management policy and measures, and the commitment regarding implementation of such policy from the board of directors and the management team?

Operating condition: Yes

The Company has stipulated “Ethical Corporate Management Best Practice Principles” on April 26, 2011, and the “Corporate Governance Best Practice Principles” on December 18, 2020, under the approval of the board of directors. The Principles have clearly stated the policies and practices of ethical corporate management of the Company, as well as the commitment of the board of directors and management team to actively implement these policies.

 

(II) Does the Company establish an unethical conduct risk evaluation mechanism to regularly analyze and evaluate the business activities that are considered to have higher risks of unethical conduct, as well as formulate preventive measures for unethical conducts? Also, do these measures encompass preventive measures as described in paragraph 2, article 7 of the Ethical Corporate Management Best Practice Principles for TWSE/GTSM Listed Companies?

Operating condition: Yes

The Company’s “Ethical Corporate Management Best Practice Principles” and “Corporate Governance Best Practice Principles” clearly state solutions to prevent unethical conduct. The Company also has a sound whistleblower and punishment system and channel:

1. Internal whistleblower channels include: (1) Direct supervisor (2) Head of HR (3) Legal affairs unit (4) Auditors (5) President’s email.

2. External whistleblower channel is the Company’s “Business Management Division as well as Legal Affairs and Legal Compliance Office”. You may contact us via the “Business Ethics Whistleblower System” on the Company’s official website (www.cmmt.com.tw). Suppose a report of an unethical incident has been received. In that case, the Company will convene a review meeting consisting of senior executives from different units to address the issue according to internal regulations. If the culprit is a manager, the Company will report the matter to the board of directors in addition to resolving the problem according to regulations.

 

(III) Does the Company establish relevant policies which are duly enforced to prevent unethical conduct and provide implementation procedures, guidelines, the consequence of violation, and complaint procedures in such policies?

Operating condition: Yes

1. The Company promotes corporate governance and business ethics concepts via weekly meetings or unscheduled meetings. If unethical incidents have taken place, the Company will convene a review meeting consisting of senior executives from various units.

2. The Company has formulated the “Ethical Corporate Management Best Practice Principles” and “Corporate Governance Best Practice Principles” targeting business activities with higher risks of unethical conduct to prevent taking and offering bribes, as well as illegal political donations.

2. Implementing ethical corporate management

(I) Does the Company assess the ethics records of whom it has a business relationship with and include business conduct and ethics-related clauses in the business contracts?

Operating condition: Yes

Besides assessing the legality of our business partners before engaging in business activities, we also conduct credit assessments to avoid transactions with unethical suppliers. Furthermore, the board of directors approved the “Procedures for Ethical Management and Guidelines for Conduct” on November 11, 2015, including “Exemption from Notification for Gifts from Suppliers and Clients”, Supplier Statement of “Ethical Conduct”, and Employee “Integrity Agreement” materialize ethical conducts and corporate governance.

 
 

(II) Does the Company set up a unit dedicated to or tasked with promoting the Company’s ethical management that reports to the Board of Directors periodically on relevant matters?

Operating condition: Yes

A unit dedicated to or tasked with promoting the Company’s ethical management: Business Management Division

※Unit operation:

1. The Company has appointed the “Business Management Division” as the responsible unit (hereinafter referred to as Company’s dedicated unit) for the revision, execution, elaboration, consultation service, and report of ethical management, as well as recording, filing of reports, and supervision. The unit regularly reports to the board of directors.

2. If the Company’s staff (including directors, managers, employees, and those with controlling power) offers or promises to offer bribes because of threats or intimidation, he or she shall record the process and report to the immediate supervisor, as well as notify the Company’s dedicated unit. Upon the receipt of the report under the preceding paragraph, the Company’s Dedicated Unit shall handle the matter immediately and undertake a review of relevant matters to minimize the risk of reoccurrence. In a case involving alleged illegality, the dedicated unit shall immediately report to the relevant judicial agency. To fulfill our duties of supervision and ensure ethical management, the Company’s board of directors has established various organizations and channels such as the Audit Committee, Remuneration Committee, financial experts affiliated to the Audit Committee, internal audit, legal compliance, and legal affairs, etc. The Finance Department and internal audit also report the execution status to the board of directors regularly. The Company’s managers - particularly the President and CFO - must ensure the financial and accounting information disclosed by the Company to the competent securities authority or other external organizations under the supervision of the board of directors is complete, fair, accurate, up-to-date, and easy to understand.

 

(III) Does the Company establish policies for preventing conflicts of interest, provide appropriate communication, complaint channels, and implement such policies properly?

Operating condition: Yes

The Company’s “Corporate Governance Best Practice Principles” stipulate that the stakeholders should avoid a conflict of interest. Transaction contracts between the Company, affiliated enterprises, and shareholders must be bound by the principle of fairness; matters where shareholders and directors with controlling power have a personal interest must be conducted in accordance with the aforementioned principle, and transfer of benefits is strictly prohibited.

 

(IV) To implement ethical management policies, does the Company establish effective accounting and internal control systems? Are relevant audit plans devised based on the unethical conduct risk evaluation outcome conducted by the internal audit unit, and are the plans used to check compliance with the unethical conduct prevention solutions, or does a CPA verify them? Operating condition: Yes

The Company has implemented an effective accounting system and internal control mechanism based on ethical management. The systems are regularly reviewed by the internal audit unit and accountants from PwC Taiwan.

 

(V) Does the Company provide internal and external ethical management training programs regularly?

Operating condition: Yes

The Company regularly hosts internal ethical management education and training and participates in external corporate governance and ethical management-related courses organized by the competent authorities and the banking industry.

3. Status of the Company’s whistleblowing mechanism

(I) Does the Company establish specific complaint and reward procedures, set up conveniently accessible complaint channels, and designate responsible individuals to handle the complaint received?

Operating condition: Yes

The Company’s whistleblower system is stated in Chapter 7 of the “Employee Code of Ethics and Business Conduct” The Company’s whistleblower channels:

1. Internal whistleblower channel includes (1) Direct supervisor (2) Head of HR (3) Legal affairs unit (3) Auditors (4) President’s email.

2. External whistleblower channel is the “Company’s Business Management Division as well as Legal Affairs and Legal Compliance Office”. You may contact us via the Business Ethics Whistleblower System on the Company’s official website (www.cmmt.com.tw).

 

(II) Does the Company establish standard operating procedures for investigating the complaints received and ensuring such complaints are handled in a confidential manner?

Operating condition: Yes

Documented in Chapter 7 “Whistleblowing, Protection, and Immunity” of the Company’s “Employee Code of Ethics and Business Conduct”.

 

(III) Does the Company adopt proper measures to prevent a complainant from retaliation for filing a complaint?

Operating condition: Yes

Documented in Chapter 7 “Whistleblowing, Protection, and Immunity” of the Company’s “Employee Code of Ethics and Business Conduct”.

4. Reinforce information disclosure

(I) Does the Company disclose its ethical management guidelines as well as information about the implementation of such guidelines on its website and MOPS?

Operating condition: The “Ethical Corporate Management Best Practice Principles” is published on the Company website (www.cmmt.com.tw) for our employees to browse and download. Relevant information is disclosed on the Company’s website or announced on MOPS according to the law.

5. If the Company has established its ethical management guidelines based on “Ethical Corporate Management Best Practice Principles for TWSE/GTSM Listed Companies”, please describe any discrepancy between the policies and their implementation

None

6. Other important information to facilitate a better understanding of the Company’s corporate conduct and ethics compliance practices (e.g., review the Company’s corporate conduct and ethics policy):

The Company has always upheld ethical management, and we have formulated the [Code of Ethical Conduct for Directors (Including Independent Directors) and Managers] and [Employee Code of Ethics and Business Conduct], while the Company has also stipulated “Ethical Corporate Management Best Practice Principles” on April 26, 2011, the “Corporate Governance Best Practice Principles” on May 12, 2011, and the “Procedures for Ethical Management and Guidelines for Conduct” on November 11, 2015, under the approval of the board of directors. The execution status of ethical management is reported to the board of directors regularly.

The Company has specified in its rules and external documents the ethical corporate management policies and practices adopted by the board of directors and the Company staff (including directors, managers, employees, and those with controlling power) in rigorously enforcing the business policies.

履行诚信经营情形
1.
(一) 公司是否制定经董事会通过之诚信经营政策,并于规章及对外文件中明示诚信经营之政策、作法,以及董事会与高阶管理阶层积极落实经营政策之承诺?
运作情形:是
本公司于100年4月26日经董事会通过「诚信经营守则」及109年12月18日经董事会通过「公司治理实务守则」,于规章及对外文件中明示诚信经营之政策、作法,以达董事会与管理阶层积极落实经营政策承诺之效。
 
(二) 公司是否建立不诚信行为风险之评估机制,定期分析及评估营业范围内具较高不诚信行为风险之营业活动,并据以订定防范不诚信行为方案,且至少涵盖「上市上柜公司诚信经营守则」第七条第二项各款行为之防范措施?
运作情形:是
本公司「诚信经营守则」、「公司治理实务守则」内容已载明防范不诚信行为方案。本公司亦有健全之申诉及惩戒制度、检举与申诉管道:
1.内部可检举管道包括:
(1)直属主管 (2)人力资源主管 (3)法务单位 (4)稽核人员 (5)总经理信箱。
2.外部检举管道为本公司「经营管理处及法务暨法令遵循室」,可透过公司官网www.cmmt.com.tw联络我们之「从业道德检举系统」进行举报。若有接获违反诚信事件,公司会召开由跨单位高阶主管所组成之人评会进行审议,并依相关内部作业规定处理;若惩戒之层级属经理人之范畴,公司除依相关规定处理外,将进一步提报至董事会。
 
(三) 公司是否于防范不诚信行为方案内明定作业程序、行为指南、违规之惩戒及申诉制度,且落实执行,并定期检讨修正前揭方案?
运作情形:是
1.公司会利用週会或不定期的会议宣导公司治理、诚信经营观念,若有违反诚信事件,公司会召开由跨单位高阶主管所组成之人评会进行审议。
2.本公司已订定「诚信经营守则」、及「诚信经营作业程序行为指南」,针对营业范围内具较高不诚信行为风险之营业活动,採行防范行贿及收贿、提供非法政治献金等事项做规范。
2. 落实诚信经营
(一) 公司是否评估往来对象之诚信纪录,并于其与往来交易对象签订之契约中明定诚信行为条款?
运作情形:是
本公司除了建立商业关係前,会先行评估往来对象之合法性,并执行授信评估,避免与有不诚信行为者交易;更于104年11月11日董事会通过「诚信经营作业程序及行为指南」,规范含「厂商客户赠送财物允收免报备」、供应商「诚信行为声明书」、员工「廉洁承诺书」等,落实公司治理之诚信行为。
 
(二) 公司是否设置隶属董事会之推动企业诚信经营专责单位,并定期(至少一年一次)向董事会报告其诚信经营政策与防范不诚信行为方案及监督执行情形?
运作情形:是
推动企业诚信经营专(兼)职单位:经营管理处

※设置单位之运作:
1.本公司指定「经营管理处」为专责单位(以下简称本公司专责单位), 办理企业诚信经营相关之修订、执行、解释、谘询服务暨通报内容、登录建档等作业及监督执行,并应定期向董事会报告。
2.本公司人员( 係指本公司与组织内董事、经理人、受僱人及具有实质控制能力之人 ),如因受威胁或恐吓,而提供或承诺疏通费者,应纪录过程陈报部门主管,并通知本公司专责单位。本公司专责单位,接获前项通知后,应立即处理,并检讨相关情事,以降低再次發生之风险。如發现涉有不法情事,并应立即通报司法单位。作为了善尽诚信经营之监督责任,本公司董事会建立了各式组织与管道,例如审计委员会、薪酬委员会、隶属审计委员会的财务专家、内部稽核、法令遵循暨法务等。财务部门及内部稽核亦会定期向董事会报告相关执行情形。公司经理人,尤其是总经理、财务长,在董事会的监督之下,必须确保本公司对证券主管机关所申报或其他对外揭露之财务会计资讯是完整、公允、准确、即时且易懂的。
 
(三) 公司是否制定防止利益冲突政策、提供适当陈述管道,并落实执行?
运作情形:是
本公司「公司治理实务守则」订有利害关係人应利益迴避,公司及关係企业间及股东交易签约事项,应基于公平原则,对有控制能力之法人股东及董事涉及自身利害关係,应依照前项原则办理,且应严禁利益输送事项。
 
(四) 公司是否为落实诚信经营已建立有效的会计制度、内部控制制度,并由内部稽核单位依不诚信行为风险之评估结果,拟订相关稽核计画,并据以查核防范不诚信行为方案之遵循情形,或委託会计师执行查核?
运作情形:是
本公司落实诚信经营所建立之有效的会计制度、内部控制制度,并由内部稽核单位定期查核及委託资诚联合会计师事务所之会计师执行查核。
 
(五) 公司是否定期举办诚信经营之内、外部之教育训练?
运作情形:是
本公司对内不只定期举办诚信经营教育训练,对外亦参加主管机关及各银行业界所主办之公司治理、诚信经营之相关课程。
3. 公司檢舉制度之運作情形
(一) 公司是否订定具体检举及奖励制度,并建立便利检举管道,及针对被检举对象指派适当之受理专责人员?
运作情形:是
本公司「员工从业道德行为准则」第七章载记检举制度。本公司检举管道:
1.内部可检举管道包括:(1)直属主管 (2)人力资源主管 (3)法务单位 (3)稽核人员(4)总经理信箱。
2.外部检举管道为本公司「经营管理处及法务暨法令遵循室」,可透过公司官网www.cmmt.com.tw联络我们之「从业道德检举系统」进行举报。
 
(二) 公司是否订定受理检举事项之调查标准作业程序、调查完成后应採取之后续措施及相关保密机制?
运作情形:是
载记于本公司「员工从业道德行为准则」第七章「检举、保护与豁免」。
 
(三) 公司是否採取保护检举人不因检举而遭受不当处置之措施?
运作情形:是
载记于本公司「员工从业道德行为准则」第七章「检举、保护与豁免」。
4. 加强资讯揭露
(一) 公司是否于其网站及公开资讯观测站,揭露其所定诚信经营守则内容及推动成效?
运作情形:
本公司网站(www.cmmt.com.tw)网页,已有發佈本公司「诚信经营守则」,供员工随时上网查阅/下载。此外,相关资讯也均揭露于本公司网站或依法令规定,公告于公开资讯观测站,以达推动成效。
5. 公司如依據「上市上櫃公司誠信經營守則」定有本身之誠信經營守則者,請敘明其運作與所定守則之差異情形

6. 其他有助于瞭解公司诚信经营运作情形之重要资讯:(如公司检讨修正其订定之诚信经营守则等情形):本公司一向诚信经营,并订有【董事(含独立董事)暨经理人道德行为准则】、【员工从业道德行为准则】及分别于100年4月26日、100年5月12日、104年11月11日经董事会通过「诚信经营守则」、「公司治理实务守则」及「诚信经营作业程序及行为指南」, 并定期向董事会报告诚信经营之执行情形。
以上守则,于规章及对外文件中,明示诚信经营之政策、作法,以达董事会与本公司人员( 係指本公司与组织董事、经理人、受僱人及具有实质控制能力之人 )积极落实经营政策承诺之效。